Ala. Speaker Mac McCutcheon appoints new committee chairmen

State Rep. Mac McCutcheon [Photo Credit:]

With the Alabama Legislature poised to kick-off it’s 2017 regular session less than two months away, on Feb. 7, Alabama’s newly elected House Speaker is busy this holiday getting things ready.

On Monday, the Monrovia-Republican announced the members who will chair the chambers’ Rules, Internal Affairs, Public Safety and Homeland Security, Commerce and Small Business, and Insurance committees when the Legislature convenes for in 2017.

“Each of these legislators is a proven leader and possesses a skill set that makes them uniquely qualified to chair their committees,” McCutcheon said in a news release. “Chairing a legislative committee significantly increases a lawmaker’s workload and demands a much greater time commitment, so I appreciate their willingness to serve in these important leadership positions.”

Here’s who’s McCutcheon has chosen as chairs: 

Alan BootheTroy-Republican, state Rep. Alan Boothe will chair the powerful House Rules Committee, which determines each day’s work agenda and decides which bills will come to the floor for debate and consideration. Boothe has served in the House since 1998 and previously served on the Troy City Council. He chaired the House Internal Affairs Committee, but will relinquish that post in order to lead the Rules Committee.



Randy WoodyAnniston-Republican, state Rep. Randy Wood will take over as chair of the House Internal Affairs Committee, which is tasked with considering bills pertaining to the operations and ethics of the Alabama Legislature. It also holds disciplinary power over members who violate the body’s rules.  Wood was elected to the House in 2002 and previously held a seat on the Calhoun County Commission. Wood will relinquish his chairmanship of the House Public Safety and Homeland Security committee to serve in his new role.



Allen TreadwayMorris-Republican, state Rep. Allen Treadaway, a captain in the Birmingham Police Department, will chair the House Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee. Treadaway, who was elected to the House in 2006, was a member of the committee and has been elevated to its leadership.



Jim CarnsBirmginham-Republican, state Rep. Jim Carns, a businessman with experience in manufacturing, will lead the House Commerce and Small Committee. Carns served in the Alabama House from 1990 to 2002 and returned to the body following a special legislative election in 2011. He also served as a member of the Jefferson County Commission.



Kerry RichAlbertville-Republican, state Rep. Kerry Rich (has been selected to chair the House Insurance Committee. Rich has served in the House since 2010 but was previously elected to two terms from 1974 to 1978 and from 1990 to 1994. The owner and manager of several radio stations throughout his career, he was also a member of former Alabama Gov. Fob James’ cabinet in the mid-1990s.