Chris Pringle to chair new House Standing Committee on Fiscal Responsibility

Chris Pringle

Mobile-Republican State Rep. Chris Pringle has been selected to chair the new House Standing Committee on Fiscal Responsibility, a panel that will focus its attention on increasing accountability and combatting the waste, misuse, and abuse of taxpayer dollars.

Monrovia-Republican and Alabama Speaker of the House Mac McCutcheon made the announcement Tuesday.

“Since 2010, the Alabama Legislature has passed several initiatives designed to tighten the reins on state spending and maximize returns on the taxpayers’ dollars, but there is more work yet to be done,” McCutcheon said. “The Standing Committee on Fiscal Responsibility will focus its full attention on considering measures that streamline the budgeting and spending process and implement needed efficiencies.”

Pringle, who received the Business Council of Alabama‘s coveted Business Champion Award in 2015, said he looks forward to the challenges that lie ahead as he and his committee members work to ensure taxpayers get maximum results from the dollars they send to Montgomery.

 “A classic movie tells the story of some miners who dig a tunnel underneath the local saloon and become rich by gathering the gold dust that simply falls between the floor boards, and that is similar to our mission,” Pringle said.  “We’re going to start examining the biggest pile of dollars in the state treasury and then drill down to the smallest cent as we seek ways to cut costs and save money while maintaining and improving services.”

 First elected to represent District 101 in the Alabama House in 2014, Pringle previously served as a member of the body from 1994 to 2002. A graduate of the University of Alabama, he is a licensed realtor with Southern Timberlands and is a licensed home building and general contractor.

Joining Pringle on the committee, which was created by a House resolution during the 2017 regular session, are: Vice Chairman Chris Sells (R-Greenville), Ranking Democrat Rod Scott (D-Fairfield),  Corley Ellis (R-Columbiana), Matt Fridy (R-Montevallo), Danny Garrett (R-Trussville), Reed Ingram (R-Montgomery), A.J. McCampbell (D-Livingston) and Patricia Todd (D-Birmingham).