Alabama Grocers Association awards over $57,000 in scholarships

Alabama Grocers Association
[Photo via AGA]

The Alabama Grocers Education Foundation (AGEF), the educational investment arm of the Alabama Grocers Association (AGA) awarded over $57,000 in scholarships to 60 employees or children of employees on Tuesday.

The AGA is a state trade association that has been representing the retail food industry in Alabama since 1990. Since its beginning, “the AGA has grown to over 125 retail member companies, representing over 1,000 retail outlets, and over 225 manufacturers, brokers, wholesalers and other members,” the association’s website reads.

90 percent of grocery food retailers in the Yellowhammer State belong to the association.

Of the 60 scholarships awarded:

  • 39 were funded by the AGEF
  • 18 were Piggyback Scholarships
  • 3 were Endowed Scholarships

“Our association members and other supporters of the Alabama Grocers Association make these scholarships possible,” Bob Crawford, Chairman, Board of Trustees, AGEF said in a press release. “The scholarships truly impact young student’s lives for the better.”

According to the foundation, scholarships are awarded based on either their parents’ employment or their own part-time employment by firms which are members of the Alabama Grocers Association, in order to relieve AGA members and their children of some college expenses

“The Alabama Grocers Foundation has been able to award more than $1.2 million in scholarships to date,” said President of the AGA, Ellie Smotherman Taylor in a press release. “The members of our association are excited to be supporting higher education efforts of Alabama’s students.”

Here’s a full list of scholarship recipients:  

Rebecca Grace Wolfe Briarwood Christian School
Andrew Kenneth Guillory Oak Mountain HS
Bailey Elizabeth Crutcher Elkmont HS
Sydney Campbell Athens HS
Sophia Marie Ragusa John Carroll Catholic HS
Kelli Irene Frye Gordon Lee Memorial HS
Cade Dotson Hannah Silverdale Baptist Academy
Lacee Mae Wallace Maplesville HS
Jacob Tanner Uptain Curry HS
Julian Makindle McGough Carbon Hill HS
Zachary Seth Woder Curry HS
Kaitlin Desiree Auble Curry HS
Madison Grace Pavlovec Curry HS
Alexandra Reed Dora HS
Macie Caroline Walker Curry HS
Hunter Bowden Williams Oakman HS
Jacob Christian Woodard Cordova high school
Chandler Grant McCosh McMinn Central HS
Olivia Ryan Ashley Paulding County HS
Quanisha Janay Trammell
Madison Lynn Boyd Houston Academy
Dominick Alan Dilleha Station Camp HS
Nicolle Marie Stanfill George County HS
Joseph Bernard Longmire Greenville HS
Nikkolas “K’Shawn” Payne Greenville HS
Amber Rose Ajlouny Hoover HS
Tyler Douglas Stone Hoover HS
Jade Ashton Ajlouny Hoover HS
Amanda Abigail Anderson Buckhorn HS
Alexander Kristian Jonczyk St John Paul II Catholic HS
Reed Patrick Player Bob Jones HS
Seth Crowder Weiss University School of Jackson
Macy Anne Murray North Cobb Christian School
Braden James Murray North Cobb Christian School
Marcus Austin Bush Stanhope Elmore HS
Neil Patrick Sullivan Baker HS
Allison Leigh Culp Martin Luther King Jr Academic Magnet HS
Emily Paige Winters North Jackson HS
Reagan Michael Padgett Gardendale HS
Keilyne Grace Sims Gardendale HS
Kylie Brooke Lovett Haleyville HS
Angel Janae Cagle Lynn HS
Molly Grace Bradford A Crawford Mosley High School
Nicolas Jonathan Scott Red Bay HS
Anna C. Jackson Red Bay HS
Lindsey Denise Holland Albertville HS
Faith Ann Ford Sardis High School
Raven Amber Edwards Calera HS
Crimson Bailey Wilborn Sylvania HS
Juan Lucio Contreras Fort Payne HS
Joshua Neal Baine Fort Payne HS
Anna Faye Freeman Sylvania HS
Anthony Mikal Rio Mackie Tishomingo County HS
Dakota Laine Belue Belmont High School
Jensen Brianna Garrett Pike Liberal Arts
Kamary Simone Sexton Booker T Washington HS
Madelyn Virginia Martin West Orange HS
Drew Parker Richardson Euphora HS
Kendall Sherell Armstead Hueytown HS
Neal Rogers Babb Franklin HS
Chassity Angela Terrell Sparkman HS