These 50 Alabama schools top the state in reading success, earn share of $1 million

[Photo Credit: Pexels]

Reading is a gateway to future success — in school and in life. It is critical to start early if children are to develop the skills they need to be successful. Which is part of the reason why the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) is rewarding the top 50 Alabama schools who showed the most improvement in last year’s 3rd grade reading results money totaling a million dollars.

ARI 1 millionAlabama lawmakers added an additional $1 million to the Alabama Reading Initiative (ARI) budget during the 2018 Legislative Session to be divided evenly among each school selected will receive a $20,000 check as a way of recognizing and incentivizing teachers and students who have worked hard to achieve proficiency in reading.

“Reading is the cornerstone to all other learning. When we make sure our students can read and comprehend what they are reading at an early age, we prepare them for a greater possibility of academic success throughout their lives,” State Superintendent of Education, Dr. Eric Mackey previously said about the initiative.

There will be a special recognition and awards ceremony on Thursday, September 13 at the ALSDE after the September Alabama State Board of Education meeting. Governor Kay Ivey, Alabama legislators, and other dignitaries will be on hand to personally congratulate all 50 schools.

Below are the award recipients:

State School Board District 1:

  • Fairhope Elementary School-Baldwin County
  • Silverhill School – Baldwin County
  • Spanish Fort Elementary School – Baldwin County
  • Swift Elementary School – Baldwin County
  • Pleasant Home School – Covington County
  • WS Harlan Elementary School – Covington County
  • Eichold-Mertz School of Math and Science – Mobile County

State School Board District 2:

  • Cleburne County Elementary School – Cleburne County
  • Kinston School – Coffee County
  • Highlands Elementary School – Dothan City
  • Geneva County Elementary School – Geneva County
  • Samson Elementary School – Geneva County
  • Slocomb Elementary School – Geneva County
  • Abbeville Elementary School – Henry County
  • Wedowee Elementary School – Randolph County

State School Board District 3:

  • Clanton Intermediate School – Chilton County
  • Bluff Park Elementary School- Hoover City
  • Deer Valley Elementary School – Hoover City
  • Greystone Elementary School – Hoover City
  • Mountain Brook Elementary School – Mountain Brook City
  • Pelham Oaks Elementary School – Pelham City
  • Mt. Laurel Elementary School – Shelby County

State School Board District 4:

  • Phillips Academy – Birmingham City

State School Board District 5:

  • Billingsley High School – Autauga County
  • Pine Level Elementary School – Autauga County
  • Southern Choctaw Elementary School – Choctaw County
  • Sweet Water High School – Marengo County

State School Board District 6:

  • Randolph Park Elementary School – Anniston City
  • Appalachian School – Blount County
  • Cold Springs Elementary School – Cullman County
  • Parkside Elementary School – Cullman County
  • Chestnut Grove Elementary School – Decatur City
  • F.E. Burleson Elementary School – Hartselle City
  • Springville Elementary School – St. Clair County

State School Board District 7:

  • Hatton Elementary School – Colbert County
  • Leighton Elementary School – Colbert County
  • Berry Elementary School – Fayette County
  • Mount Olive Elementary School – Jefferson County
  • South Lamar School – Lamar County
  • Central High School – Lauderdale County
  • Underwood Elementary School – Lauderdale County
  • Crestline Elementary School – Mountain Brook City
  • Cahaba Elementary School – Trussville City
  • Tuscaloosa Magnet School – Elementary – Tuscaloosa City
  • Verner Elementary School – Tuscaloosa City

State School Board District 8:

  • Attalla Elementary School – Attalla City
  • Fyffe High School – DeKalb County
  • Henagar Junior High School – DeKalb County
  • Sylvania School – DeKalb County
  • Thurston T Nelson Elementary School – Scottsboro City