Despite bad weather, delays John Merrill says Alabama polls will open as scheduled

Election Day Vote
[Photo Credit: AP Photo | Chuck Burton]

While many schools around the state are delaying opening due to severe inclement weather in the forecast Alabama Secretary of State John Merrill has taken to social media to announce that the delays will not impact the polls, even if they are at the schools with delays.

All polling sites in each one of Alabama’s 67 counties are scheduled to be open in the morning at 7 AM and will remain open until 7 PM tomorrow night as scheduled.

There are some polling sites that are currently located in school facilities in certain counties.

Some of these counties have a delayed opening for schools tomorrow.

The delayed opening of certain schools will not affect the polling site in that location.

All polls will open at 7 AM in all jurisdictions tomorrow morning on election day!

Across the state, polls open at 7:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m. Here’s what you need to know before you head to the polls.

For additional voting and election information, visit:

Current list of delays:

  • Albertville City Schools:  2-hour delay
  • Athens Bible Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Athens City Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Athens State University:  2-hour delay
  • Arab City Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Big Cove Christian Academy: 2-hour delay
  • Boaz City Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Calhoun Community College: Will open at 9:30 a.m.
  • Country Day School: 2-hour delay
  • Cullman County Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Cullman City Schools: 2-hour delay
  • DeKalb County Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Drake State: Will open at 9:30
  • Etowah City Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Grace Lutheran School: 2-hour delay
  • Guntersville City Schools: Closed (originally scheduled to be a half day)
  • Huntsville City Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Jackson County Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Lawrence County Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Limestone County Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Lincoln Academy – 2-hour delay
  • Madison Academy: 2-hour delay
  • Madison City Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Madison County Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Marshall County Schools: 3-hour delay
  • Morgan County Schools: 2-hour delay
  • Northeast Alabama Community College: Will open at 9:30 a.m.
  • Randolph School: Begin at 9:20 a.m.
  • St. John Paul II: 2-hour delay (Classes to begin at 9:50 a.m.)
  • Wallace State Community College: classes will begin at 9:30 a.m.
  • Westminster Christian: 2-hour delay