State Dept. of Education announces inaugural state superintendent’s teacher cabinet

Colorful Chalk at Chalkboard

After taking the helm of the  Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) last August, new State Superintendent Michael Sentance called for a new advisory group of educators, which will provide a direct avenue of communication with the state superintendent to discuss important issues regarding education.

On Thursday, the ALDSE announced the new group’s — the Superintendent’s Teacher Cabinet for Alabama educators —  inaugural members. The selected teachers will serve on the cabinet for one-year terms, with the exception of the soon-to-be-announced 2017-18 Teacher of the Year, who will serve a two-year term.

According to the ALDSE, the teachers will meet with Sentance approximately twice each semester, and will also be invited to attend/speak at events pertinent to elevating the teaching profession.

There were several hundred applicants, reviewed by ALSDE staff and ultimately chosen by the state superintendent.

The inaugural State Superintendent’s Teacher Cabinet includes:

  1. Dana Jacobson (Co-Chair)
    2016-17 Alabama State Teacher of the Year
  2. To be named May 10 (Co-Chair)
    2017-18 Alabama State Teacher of the Year
  3. Roger Rose
    Social Studies Teacher
    Mary G. Montgomery High School, Mobile County Public School System
  4. Christy Anders
    6th grade Special Education Teacher
    Muscle Shoals Middle School, Muscle Shoals City School System
  5. Michael May
    Science and Engineering Teacher
    Athens High School
  6. Erica Griffin
    AP English Language and Composition Teacher
    Hartselle High School, Hartselle City School System
  7. Jennifer Fernandez
    K-5th grade ESL Teacher
    Austinville Elementary, Decatur City School System
  8. Stephanie Hyatt
    Reading Teacher and AP English Teacher 9-12th grades
    Lee High School, Huntsville City Schools
  9. Paige Hicks
    History Teacher
    Athens High School, Athens City School System
  10. Aishia King
    English/Language Arts Teacher
    Mary G. Montgomery High School, Mobile County Public School System
  11. Brandi Evans
    4th grade Teacher
    W.S. Harlan Elementary School, Covington County School System
  12. Andrea Rascoe
    6th grade Math Teacher
    Saraland Middle School, Saraland City School District
  13. Julie Ramsay
    Reading/Reading Intervention, and English Language Arts Teacher
    Rock Quarry Middle School, Tuscaloosa City School System
  14. Jennifer Reaves
    6th-8th grade Career and Technical Education Teacher
    Echols Middle School, Tuscaloosa County School System
  15. Darren Ramalho
    Social Studies/English Teacher, Robert C. Hatch High School, Perry County Schools
  16. Kristin Daniel
    K-2nd grade Art Teacher, Auburn Early Education Center, Auburn Schools
  17. Robert Louis Lyda
    K-2nd grade Music Teacher, Cary Woods Elementary School, Auburn City Schools
  18. Judy Hinton
    Middle School Reading Teacher
    Birmingham City Schools
  19. Rodriquez Leonard
    7th grade ELA Teacher
    John Herbert Phillips International Baccalaureate Academy, Birmingham City Schools
  20. Laura Howard
    Calculus/Algebra II with Trigonometry/Algebra with Finance Teacher
    Daleville High School, Daleville City Schools
  21. Tammy Basaraba
    8th grade Science
    Etowah Middle School, Attalla City Schools

Should any Alabama teacher be named a 2017 Milken Educator Award winner, they will automatically be added to the advisory group.