The 2018 race to the Alabama governor’s mansion: final list of who’s in

Alabama governor's mansion

The 2018 race to the Alabama’s governor’s mansion is heating up with a whopping 12 candidates qualifying to run — six Republicans and six Democrats.

Here’s who’s in the running:
*all candidates presented in alphabetical order by political party


  • Tommy Battle: the current Huntsville Mayor.
  • Slade Blackwell: State Senator from Mountain Brook, Ala. 
  • Scott Dawson: an American author, preacher, and the founder of the Scott Dawson Evangelistic Association
  • Bill Hightower: State Senator from Mobile, Ala. 
  • Kay Ivey: the current governor who assumed the helm of the Yellowhammer State following former Gov. Robert Bentley‘s resignation in February 2017. 
  • Michael McAllister


  • Jason Childs: a truck driver from Oxford, Ala.
  • Christopher Countryman: a marriage equality activist
  • Sue Bell Cobb: former state Supreme Court Chief Justice,
  • James Fields: from Hanceville, Ala.
  • Walt Maddox: Mayor of Tuscaloosa
  • Anthony White: Ordained minister and small business owner from Dothan, Ala.

Who’s out

  • David Carrington: the Jefferson County Commissioner dropped out of the race.
  • Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh: the Public Service Commission President flipped to the lieutenant governor’s race in August 2017.
  • Stacy Lee George: a state correctional officer and former Morgan County Commissioner dropped out of the race.
  • John McMillan: the State Agriculture Commissioner filed notice on Dec. 12, 2017 he would run for state treasurer instead of governor.
  • Josh Jones: Birmingham businessman, did not qualify

The 2018 gubernatorial election will take place on November 6, 2018The winner will be sworn into office on January 21, 2019.