Here’s everyone the Alabama New South Alliance has endorsed in the 2018 election cycle

Alabama New South Coalition

Hundreds of members from Alabama New South Alliance (ANSA), the political arm of the Alabama New South Coalition (ANSC), has announced its endorsements of races across the state ahead of the June 5 primary.

According to their website, the purpose of the Alabama New South Coalition is to promote the general welfare of all people through independent focused organizations dedicated to progressive ideals of freedom, justice and democracy. Our specific objectives are to effect solutions to social, economic and community problems by constructively promoting:

  • Community focused organization
  • Voter registration and education
  • Economic development
  • Cultural awareness
  • Leadership development
  • Youth development
  • Progressive legislation
  • and; to coalesce and assist organizations with similar objectives.

ANSA members gathered Saturday, April 21 at the  Maggie Street Dream Center in Montgomery, Ala. for their Spring Endorsement Convention. After hearing from statewide, congressional, legislative, and multi-county candidates, ANSA made their endorsements for the June 5 primary election.

Here are the candidates who the Alabama New South Alliance has endorsed, who they believe will best promote “progressive” ideals and legislation while in office:

U.S. Congress

  • District 1: Robert Kennedy, Jr.
  • District 2: Tabitha Isner and Audri Scott Williams (dual endorsement)
  • District 4: Lee Auman

Statewide races

  • Governor: Walt Maddox
  • Attorney General: Joseph Siegelman 

Alabama Supreme Court

  • Chief Justice: Bob Vance
  • Associate Justice Place 3: Will Sellers
  • Associate Justice Place 4:  Donna Wesson Smalley

State Senate

  • District 23: Malika Sanders-Fortier

State House

  • District 69: Kevin Lawrence

State Board of Education

  • District 8: Jessica Fortune Barker

State Democratic Executive Committee

  • 70: Eva Prewitt
  • 71: John Zippert

Additionally, the Third District of Alabama New South Alliance met on Saturday,  May 5 at the Ebenezer CME Church in Loachapoka, Ala. as a continuation of the Third District meeting at the ANSA convention held on Saturday, April 21 in Montgomery, Ala. There, they made the following endorsements.

U.S. Congress

  • District 3: Mallory Hagan

State Senate

  • District 13: Darrell Turner

State House

  • District 32: Barbara Boyd
  • District 38: Brian McGee
  • District 82: Johnny Ford
  • District 83: John Andrew Harris

Board of Education

  • District 2: Adam Jortner

State Democratic Executive Committee

  • Patsy-Boyd Parker