John Merrill releases information on April 12 primary runoff

Voters in a voting booth_Election Day

Alabama Secretary of State John Merrill released information Monday regarding the April 12 primary runoff in more than 40 counties across the state.

Republican runoffs will be held in Autauga, Baldwin, Blount, Butler, Clay, Cleburne, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, Dekalb, Elmore, Excambia, Fayette, Franklin, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Mobile, Randolph, Shelby, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Winston counties next Tuesday.

Democratic runoffs will be held in Bullock, Colbert, Conecuh, Dallas, Franklin, Greene, Jefferson, Monroe, Montgomery, Tuscaloosa and Wilcox counties.

In Mobile County, Jackie Zeigler and Matthew Brown will face-off in a battle for the District 1 seat on the local school board. In Montgomery County, three candidates will go toe-to-toe for the District 7 seat on the Montgomery County Board of Education – incumbent Roberta Collins will go up against Arica Watkins-Smith and Phyllis Harvey-Hall.

In Shelby County, two runoffs will play out next week: Lara Alvis and Patrick Kennedy will vie for the Circuit Judge position, while Ron Griggs and Ward Williams go head-to-head in the Shelby County Commission District 4 race. In Tuscaloosa County, incumbent Reginald Murray will face Gregalyn Robertson in the Democratic runoff for District 4 County Commissioner.

In those counties, the elections may only pertain to a certain voting district rather than the entire county.


Comments are closed.