Republican Convention: what to watch for on Day 4

2016 GOP Convention
[Photo Credit: AP Image]

Wednesday night at the Republican National Convention was one for the history books.

The raucous evening was highly dramatic as former presidential candidate and Texas Sen. Ted Cruz refused to endorse Republican presidential nominee Donald Trump in primetime. After which, loud boos emanated from the crowd, marking a clear end to the pretense that Republicans were uniting behind their nominee.

Tonight may prove to be even more dramatic.

Why? Trump is poised to take the stage for a crucial primetime speech formally accepting the party’s presidential nomination.

Themed “Make America One Again,” Trump will endeavor to do just that — to unite his fractured party on the final day of the convention behind the idea of keeping presumptive Democratic nominee Hillary Clinton out of the White House.

Thursday night’s program gives insight to the the planned mood of the evening:

America faces serious challenges at home and threats from abroad. In order to turn our challenges into opportunities and keep America secure, we need leadership that will focus on what unites us, not what divides us. Donald Trump will move our country beyond the divisive identity politics that have been holding us back by restoring leadership, building trust, and focusing on our shared love of country and our common goal of making America great again..

Here’s the full list of Thursday’s primetime speakers, which begin speaking at 7:30 p.m.:

  • Brock Mealer: Motivational Speaker
  • Marsha Blackburn: U.S. Congresswoman from Tennessee’s 7th District
  • Mary Fallin: Governor of Oklahoma
  • Dr. Lisa Shin, National Diversity Coalition for Trump
  • Reince Priebus: RNC Chairman
  • Jerry Falwell, Jr.: President of Liberty University and evangelical leader
  • Peter Thiel: Venture Capitalist
  • Tom Barrack: CEO of Colony Capital
  • Ivanka Trump: daughter of Donald Trump and EVP at the Trump Organization
  • Donald J. Trump: Republican candidate for President of the United States