Terri Sewell named Vice Chair of group to ‘protect’ voters from Donald Trump

Terri Sewell and Donald Trump

The Democratic National Committee (DNC) launched a new group on Thursday that aims to “protect” American voters from President Donald Trump.

Formed in direct response to the Trump Administration’s Presidential Advisory Commission on Election Integrity, the Commission on Protecting American Democracy from the Trump Administration aims to will investigate voter suppression, the “voter fraud” myth, and strategies for modernizing the voting process to expand voting rights.

“President Trump’s commission is nothing but a sham to justify the GOP’s voter suppression efforts across the country,” DNC Chairman Tom Perez said in a statement. “While Trump’s misleading claims about voter fraud were probably made to mend his bruised ego after losing the popular vote, he created an opening for Republican politicians to nationalize their efforts to complicate voting and suppress eligible voters.”

Jason Kander, President of Let America Vote and a former Missouri secretary of state,  will chair the 13-member commission along with Alabama 7th District U.S. Rep. Terri Sewell who has been named vice chair.

“When it comes to protecting voting rights for all Americans, we cannot trust the Trump Administration to get the facts right,” said Sewell. “Time after time, President Trump has chosen to recite baseless ‘voter fraud’ claims rather than taking on real issues like voter suppression.”

“Our Commission will document and report on today’s wave of voter suppression tactics and provide recommendations for strengthening access to the polls for all Americans. One person, one vote is a fundamental principle of our democracy, and I am proud to be part of a Commission that seeks to protect and advance voting rights.”

 The other members of the commission include:  New Jersey Sen. Cory Booker; Texas Rep. Joaquin Castro; Colorado House Speaker Crisanta Duran; Maricopa County Recorder Adrian Fontes; Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes; Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healey; New York Representative Grace Men; Wisconsin Representative Gwen Moore; California Secretary of State Alex Padilla; DNC Vice Chair Karen Carter Peterson; and District of Columbia Attorney General Karl Racine.