The 2018 race to the Alabama governor’s mansion: who’s in


The 2018 race to the Alabama’s governor’s mansion is heating up with a whopping 11 candidates filing notices with their intentions to run.

Here’s who’s in the running:
*all candidates presented in alphabetical order by political party


  • Tommy Battle: the current Huntsville Mayor.
  • Scott Dawson: an American author, preacher, and the founder of the Scott Dawson Evangelistic Association
  • Bill Hightower: State Senator from Mobile, Ala. 
  • Kay Ivey: the current governor who assumed the helm of the Yellowhammer State following former Gov. Robert Bentley‘s resignation in February 2017. 
  • Josh Jones: Birmingham businessman


  • Jason Childs: a truck driver from Oxford, Ala.
  • Sue Bell Cobb: former state Supreme Court Chief Justice,
  • James Fields: from Hanceville, Ala.
  • Walt Maddox: Mayor of Tuscaloosa
  • Anthony White: from Dothan, Ala.


  • Mark Johnston: from Hayden, Ala.

Who’s out

  • David Carrington: the Jefferson County Commissioner dropped out of the race.
  • Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh: the Public Service Commission President flipped to the lieutenant governor’s race in August 2017.
  • Stacy Lee George: a state correctional officer and former Morgan County Commissioner dropped out of the race.
  • John McMillan: the State Agriculture Commissioner filed notice on Dec. 12, 2017 he would run for state treasurer instead of governor.

The 2018 gubernatorial election will take place on November 6, 2018The winner will be sworn into office on January 21, 2019.


Comments are closed.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
%d bloggers like this: