Secretary of State’s Office begins legal action to recover unpaid campaign finance fines

Alabama money

The Alabama Secretary of State’s Office is standing up to political action committees and candidate committees who failed to pay their campaign finance fines during the 2018 election cycle.

On Thursday, Alabama Secretary of State John Merrill announced he is enforcing a 2015-495 in 2015 law that allows his office to issue fines when Principle Campaign Committees (PCCs) or Political Action Committees (PACs) don’t file their monthly, weekly, or daily campaign finance reports on time. The fines are serve as a deterrent to filing elections late and keeping pertinent donor information away from voters.

There are 24 unpaid penalties among the nine noncompliant committees listed below:

  1. Burton Leflore
  2. Diedre Willis
  3. Franklin Edwards
  4. John Moton, Jr.
  5. Richard Dickerson
  6. Roderick Clark
  7. Terrence Johnson
  8. Veronica Johnson
  9. William Hobbs

According to state law, all funds collected are deposited directly into the state general fund.

The Fair Campaign Practices Act does not protect the people of Alabama when campaigns and their committees avoid transparent reporting of the campaign’s financial activity. 

This law was established to provide the people of Alabama with a concise report of the financial activity of those seeking public office in Alabama.